Guest Reviews

We have a book in the cottage where we ask guests to mention if they have a particularly good or bad meal in the area, or if they have enjoyed a day out, and we now have a collection of recommendations for new guests to read. Thanks to everyone who has taken the time and trouble to tell us about their stay. Sometimes people add a comment about the cottage and here are a few extracts we’ve picked out from the more recent reviews.

Spot on

Guest Books

Spot on. Everything here that you need. Sausage rolls in the bay a bit pricey though (May 19)

(Included the sausage roll comment as it made me smile!)

Lovely time

Guest Books

We had a lovely time over the coldest days and nights of the winter so far. Glad to be back in this adorable cottage a year on. (Feb 19)

Snug little cottage

Guest Books

A well-equipped and comfortable cottage, perfect for our Christmas seaside break. (Dec 2018)

Hope to come here again!

Guest Books

The cottage was not too small and not too big. It was perfect. I enjoyed listening to the seagulls before we went to bed. There were great cliff top walks and we walked for 10 miles. It was very nice to feel the wind in our face. Crabbing was very fun as well, but we only caught one crab because the people before us caught most of them. I love the cottage. (Annabelle, aged 9, writing in the junior guestbook – Oct 2018)

A perfect break in this lovely part of the world

Guest Books
The cottage is ideally situated within walking distance of local shops, and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed being able to go out without using the car to access some fabulous walks. West Bexington via the golf course and back via the beach with a lovely lunch at The Hive Beach Cafe was a particular highlight.
It was lovely to have such a comfortable, well appointed base with everything you need provided. If you have young children I’m sure they will love the room with the cabin bed and the thoughtful selection of books. Would recommend without hesitation for a perfect break in this lovely part of the world. (From email, Oct 2018)

West Bay by far the best!

Guest Books

Our first trip to Dorset and we’ve fallen in love with Swains Row and West Bay. (Aug 18)

Great times

Guest Books

Fabulous cottage with loads of character and right in the centre of things! (July 18)

Lovely memories

Guest Books

A cottage brimming with charm and character. (June 18)

Smashing stay

Guest books - you can read people's recommendations

We had a smashing stay at Swains Row. Loved your cottage, found West Bay a delight and look forward to coming back in the future. (June 18)

Very happy week in your cottage

Guest Books

Very happy week in your cottage – comfy sofa and bed welcome after long walks. Perfect home from home. (May 18)

Everything on the doorstep

Guest Books

We have had a fantastic break away and fallen in love with West Bay! The cottage has been a perfect base with everything on the doorstep. (April 2018)

Lovely cottage

Guest Books

Lovely cottage, we are serial visitors to West Bay and really glad to have stayed here! (March 2018)

Beautiful cottage

Guest Books

Beautiful cottage – great location – we will visit again. (Nov 2017)

Lovely touches

Guest Books

We’ve had a lovely stay – This cottage is perfectly equipped with lots of lovely touches. Our highlights: fireworks and bonfire, climbing the ‘Broadchurch’ Cliff (wearing our David Tennant and Olivia Coleman masks – yes really!) (Oct 2017)

Nice Everything

Guest Books

Nice cottage.  Nice everything. Enjoyed our stay. Thank you. (Oct 2017)

Comfortable stay

Guest Books

Cottage has everything needed for a comfortable stay. Station Kitchen unique – Martin Clunes there when we visited! (Oct 2017)

Tidy little cottage

Guest Books

Tidy little cottage, well equipped and in a great location for West Bay and the wider coast. (Sept 2017)

Lovely cottage

Guest Books

Lovely cottage, well equipped. Great location to explore Dorset. Will definitely be back. (Aug 2017)

Fabulous location

Guest Books

A lovely, well equipped cottage in a fabulous location (June 2017)

A real home from home

Guest Books

A real home from home, what a gorgeous cottage, superbly equipped (May 2017)

Great week

Guest Books

… what a great week we had at Swains Row. We had glorious weather with three days with not a cloud in the sky. So thank you – a lovely well-equipped cottage and a memorable week. May 17

Cottage was fabulous

Guest Books

Had a lovely week. Cottage was fabulous and had everything and more you could need. April 17

Well equipped for kids

Guest Books

Lovely cosy cottage, well equipped for kids. Our 3 year old loved ‘the Captains Bed.’ Oct 16

Tremendous week in your cottage

Guest Books

We had a tremendous week in your cottage. We were very impressed with the cottage – how tastefully it had been decorated (no garish wallpaper!) and furnished and how extensively equipped it was – particularly the kitchen. We have some experience in this area (both good and bad!). You obviously take a lot of trouble to give your guests a good return for their money. Email Sept 16

Home from home

Guest Books

We love this cottage, perfect location for the beach, amenities and local restaurants. It is well equipped with high quality furnishings which make it feel home from home. Sept 16

Great holiday

Guest Books

Enjoyed our 4th year here. Great holiday and fantastic hot! hot! hot! weeks. July 16

Loved the convenience

Guest Books

Cottage perfect for our needs and loved the convenience of being round the corner from the harbour. July 16

Great being so close to harbour and walks

Guest Books

Lovely break. Great being so close to harbour and walks….cosy cottage and appreciated wood burner. May 16

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Guest Books

Lovely, cosy and comfortable cottage. Appreciated how well-equipped it was as well as attention to detail plus the modern conveniences. Loved the location and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Feb 16

Fantastic holiday in West Bay

Guest Books

Fantastic holiday in West Bay – lots of walking and eating! Cottage great, very clean with everything you need. Oct 15

On the tin is what you get…

Guest Books

Superb!! On the ‘tin’ is what you get… and lots more… homely, clean, great beds, intimate surroundings, lots of books, toys and quality furnishings!! Outdoor front and rear gardens… fully equipped kitchen etc.etc. Brilliant!! Sept 15